Coordinates: 42°28′32″N 96°21′32″W / 42.47555°N 96.358854°W / 42.47555; -96.358854
Morningside College is a private, liberal arts college affiliated with the United Methodist Church located in Sioux City, Iowa. Founded in 1894 by the Methodist Episcopal Church, Morningside College is a private, four-year, co-educational liberal arts institution. Morningside has 21 buildings on a 68-acre (280,000 m2) campus in Sioux City (area population 143,157 in 2008.). The Morningside Historic District, which includes Grace United Methodist Church and most of the campus, is on the National Register of Historic Places.
Charles City, Iowa, was home to Charles City College, a Methodist college that was absorbed into Morningside College in the 1910s.
Morningside College teams are known as the Mustangs (formerly known as the Chiefs). The college is a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA), competing in the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC). The Mustangs formerly competed in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II level, primarily as a member of the now-defunct North Central Conference (NCC) until the 2000-01 season. Men's sports include baseball, basketball, bowling, cross country, football, golf, soccer, swimming, tennis, track & field, volleyball and wrestling; while women's sports include basketball, bowling, cross country, golf, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis, track & field and volleyball.
The Lady Mustangs Basketball team won back-to-back NAIA Division II National Championships in 2004 and 2005. They also won the National Championship in 2009 with an undefeated 38-0 record. Morningside's Jake Stevenson won the NAIA 184 lb (83 kg) Wrestling Championship in 2007. The football team was coached from 1948-1950 by future Pro Football Hall of Fame coach George Allen and the current coach is Steve Ryan.
Morningside College is on a 68-acre (280,000 m2) campus in the residential neighborhood of Morningside in Sioux City, Iowa. student organizations include: student government, honor societies, service groups, religious organizations, musical ensembles, student publications, and three national fraternities ( Alpha Omicron Pi women's fraternity, Delta Sigma Phi fraternity, and Acacia Fraternity). The campus is also home to two nationally renowned music fraternities, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia (men's) and Mu Phi Epsilon (co-ed nationally, but strictly women for this campus). Morningside's Department of Mass Communications has a weekly newspaper, the Collegian Reporter, it shares a Public-access television cable TV channel 12 as MCTV, and operates a radio station 24 hours a day at 92.9 on the FM dial, KMSC.
Dimmitt Hall is the third oldest building on campus. It was named for Lillian Dimmitt, the 26-year Dean of Women, Dimmitt Hall shares that namesake with the Lillian Dimmitt Alumni House, Dimmitt's former residence renovated for meeting and office space. A second renovation of Dimmitt Hall followed in the second half of the century producing the notable wings on either side of the primary structure.
Roadman Hall was built in two phases in the mid twentieth century, and houses about 150 students, mostly in double occupied rooms, but with several apartments as well. The dormitory is named after the longtime president of the college, Dr. Earl Roadman (1936–1956). The newer wing of the building, Roadman South, was renovated and reopened in 2005. Unlike the rest of Roadman, it boasts air conditioned facilities.
The Residence Complex, or "Plex," was constructed in 1966 as a temporary housing for the construction crew employed to build Eppley Auditorium. The facility served a unique set of students and has since been home for many of Morningside's students.
In 2005, two apartment-style dormitories opened for upperclassmen, the Waitt and Poppen Halls. Between the two buildings a maximum of 72 students may hence reside. These buildings surround a central courtyard that serves as an additional functional meeting space for parties, celebrations, and student activities. Overlooking this green space is a majestic clock tower with seating beneath.
Lags Hall, the third apartment-style living facility completed the apartment courtyard design in 2007. It has single-occupancy rooms and a leadership theme.
In 2005, the Hickman Johnson Furrow Library was renovated to include the Spoonholder Coffee Bar, Academic Support Services Center, and new seating editions. The library's print holdings were reviewed to weed out the oldest, outdated sources, making room for additional study places. The center has become a major gathering place for students following the renovations.
The newest addition to Morningside's campus is located at its heart. In 2005, the decision to replace the campus' central parking lot and existing maintenance facilities with a grand central campus green space and new maintenance facilities was made and passed by the Board. A $26 million capital fund-raising campaign began to raise the money needed for a major set of renovations and new construction.
The first addition came in the form of the central campus Hilker Green Space. Work began in the Summer of 2006 and finally opened in late Summer of 2007. The space is designed as a split-level area featuring the grand two-level Lieder Family Fountain. Walkways and a 10-foot-wide (3.0 m) access path cut through the upper-lawn making their way by Lewis Hall connecting the Hickman Johnson Furrow Learning and Olsen Student Centers. The lower level features the Kline Family Pergola, a unique overlook allowing a magnificent view of Bass Field, the apartment complexes, all the way to Dimmitt Hall and Olsen Stadium on the other side of campus. Near Eppley Auditorium, the new Buhler Performance Outdoor Performance Center has outdoor seating and is home to many special productions.
A new softball complex was added in Fall 2005, occupying the south third of Bass Field. The maintenance facilities, added to the Southeast end of campus feature a new spacious facility capable of servicing many of the campus' needs including the print shop and mail center and a new large parking lot. The last addition came in the form of a new South End parking lot that sits atop the old maintenance facilities.
At the same time, the Olsen Student Center underwent several renovations. The first replaced the old Randolph Room (a center for business, banquets, award recognitions, and orientation activities) with the modernized Yockey Room. The facility features a state-of-the-art multi-media setup. Outside of this room, a new conference facility was added to allow for upscale business meetings and public relations luncheons. The final renovation came to the campus' cafeteria and security facilities on the top level. The cafeteria now features unique booth, counter, and table settings, new food area offerings, and LCD televisions broadcasting campus events, calendars, and more. The dish washing facilities, offices, and food preparation areas have all been redesigned. An eye-catching addition is the polished teak floor. The security office was placed in the old security administrator's office at the building's entrance.
These new spaces have created a lovely new atmosphere for students and has garnered a number of compliments from students, faculty, and alumni.
Source: Morningside 2006-2007 Catalog