MSA Graduate Fellowship Program

Application Information

Already signed up? Log in

Amount Awarded


Application Deadline

February 15

Awarded By

Mycological Society of America

Award Amount

One Backus Award will be awarded in the amount of $1,000, two MSA Graduate Fellowships will be awarded in the amount of $2,000, and one Memorial NAMA Fellowship will be awarded in the amount of $2,000. All awards are offered annually and are non-renewable.


Four awards offered annually.

Additional Information

There are three different awards in the MSA Graduate Fellowship Program: the Backus Award, the Memorial NAMA Fellowship and the MSA Graduate Fellowships. These fellowships are awarded annually to promising graduate students in mycology. Please note: The Memorial NAMA Fellowship comes with the stipulation that the awardee prepare an article for McIlvainea. Each applicant is evaluated on the basis of his/her scholastic merit, research abilities and promise shown as a mycologist. Applicants must be student members of the MSA, candidates for the Ph.D., and residents during the tenure of the fellowship in a university in Canada or the United States. Previous recipients of these fellowships are not eligible to apply.

Deadline Info

Information on the MSA Graduate Fellowship can be found on the Mycological Society of America (MSA) website. To apply, the applicant must submit the following: a cover letter addressing his/her elig ... sign up for full scholarship deadline information.

Save time. Fill out your Scholarship Match profile to get personalized scholarship results.

Give me my personalized results