E. C. Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship

Application Information

Already signed up? Log in

Amount Awarded


Application Deadline

May 31, 2018

Awarded By

American Postal Workers Union

Award Amount

$2,000 annually, renewable for three consecutive years of college, as long as the recipient maintains a 'B' average each year or 'pass' if pass/fail system. Scholarship funds will be disbursed to the school for payment of tuition, room, board, books, or fees.


Ten awards offered annually. There will be two awards offered to one male and one female student in each of five geographical areas (Central, Eastern, Northeast, Southern, and Western). A detailed listing of the states in each geographical area is available on the application.

Additional Information

Please note: Students may apply for either this scholarship or the Vocational Scholarship offered by APWU, but not both. In making scholarship selections, the Scholarship Selection Committee places primary emphasis upon knowledge and understanding of the importance of unions as displayed in the essay. Decisions of the Selection Committee will be final. Winners will receive notice by July 1. The following individuals are excluded from consideration for this scholarship: children/grandchildren of all elected national officers; applicants from other postal unions (NALC, NRLCA, NMPHU); students whose sponsors are currently postal managers. Please note: The scholarship will be discontinued for a recipient whose sponsor becomes a postal manager.

Deadline Info

The application deadline date has not yet been finalized for this year, but is expected to remain the same as last year. The deadline date shown here is tentative based on last year's date. Please che ... sign up for full scholarship deadline information.

Save time. Fill out your Scholarship Match profile to get personalized scholarship results.

Give me my personalized results